A Discovery of Witches

Dark times are coming in the second season of the hit supernatural Sky Original drama.

About A Discovery of Witches

We join the second series as reluctant witch Diana Bishop and vampire Matthew Clairmont seek refuge in the fascinating and treacherous world of Elizabethan London. There, they must find a powerful witch to help Diana control her magic and search for the elusive Book of Life. Diana realises instantly that the 16th century Matthew Roydon is a different man to the one she fell in love with, but there is no time to settle in, as Matthew must report to his boss, William Cecil, who pressures Matthew to resume his former occupation – spying for the Queen.

Watch the trailer

The characters

Meet the cast....

Diana Bishop

Teresa Palmer

Matthew Clairmont

Matthew Goode

Gerbert D'Aurilliac

Trevor Eve

Peter Knox

Owen Teale

Ysabeau De Clermont

Lindsay Duncan

Satu Jarvinen

Malin Buska

Baldwin De Clermont

Trystan Gravelle

Gillian Chamberlain

Louise Brealey

Agatha Wilson

Tanya Moodie

Emily Mather

Valarie Pettiford

Episode guide

Check out some more A Discovery of Witches

Series 1

Episode 1

A historian discovers a manuscript that sends her into a world of magic, where she crosses paths with a vampire.

Episode 2

As Matthew fights to control his cravings, he leaves Diana to face her enemies alone. And those include powerful witch Peter Knox.

Episode 3

Diana and Matthew's relationship moves forward. But something's about to happen that will cast them both further into danger.

Episode 4

Diana gets a chilly welcome from Matthew's mum when they seek safety at the Clairmont family home. Meanwhile, trouble brews back in Oxford.

Episode 5

Matthew crosses a dangerous line when he returns to Oxford. Diana discovers his dark past, before something unexpected tears them apart.

Episode 6

Matthew and Baldwin race to save Diana from Satu's dangerous dark magic. In Oxford, Sophie shocks Agatha with a confession.

Episode 7

Diana's aunts' home gives up all sorts of secrets when Diana and Matthew pay a visit. Danger looms as Juliette breaks free from Gerbert.

Episode 8

Matthew's attempts to rescue Diana from Juliette go horribly wrong, while a failed coup at the Congregation sees its most powerful members go rogue.

Series 2

Episode 1

The Sky original based on the Deborah Harkness stories returns, as Matthew and Diana head to Elizabethan London to find a teacher to harness Diana's powers.

Episode 2

As she continues her search for a mentor, Diana meets wealthy alchemist Mary Sidney. London's vampire ruler demands fealty from Diana and Matthew.

Episode 3

In the present day, Domenico makes a disturbing discovery in Oxford. Back in 1590, Matthew is forced to beg for forgiveness from Father Hubbard.

Episode 4

Another vicious vampire murder rocks present-day Oxford. Marcus makes a breakthrough in his search for Diana and Matthew's journey back in time.

Episode 5

Matthew and Diana arrive in France on their journey to face Philippe, while Louisa and Kit cut a swathe through London.

Episode 6

Philippe makes a troubling discovery, provoking a conflict with Matthew. In the present, Ysabeau, Em and Sarah start to look for a message.

Episode 7

Matthew and Diana arrive in Bohemia to search for Edward Kelley and the Book of Life. There, they encounter the troublesome Emperor Rudolf II.

Episode 8

In 1590, Diana is transfixed as she tries to work out what the Book is telling her. Matthew worries over the Book's power.

Episode 9

As Diana and Matthew return to London, Diana learns news that can change everything. The Queen holds Matthew to account for his failures.

Episode 10

The second series reaches its dramatic conclusion. Realising that she must return to the present, Diana makes plans to complete her training.

Watch on Sky Stream.

Exclusive Sky channels. Sports, Cinema, Kids. National Geographic. Netflix originals and unmissable shows not on Freeview. Cancel anytime. Next day delivery.