Are you a Sky Q customer?

Yes, I'm a Sky Q customer No, I'm a Sky+ customer

For a more personalised experience, please sign in.

Thanks

We can now provide you with more relevant help.

Emails automatically being sent to trash

If your incoming emails are being sent to your Trash or Deleted folder instead of your inbox, follow the steps below to stop this from happening.

If you access your emails through your web browser: 

  1. Change your password to something new and sign in again to Sky Yahoo Mail.
  2. Send some test emails to yourself.
  3. If this hasn’t worked, check that you don’t have a third party mailbox (e.g. your Hotmail or Gmail account) set up to access your emails.
  4. If you do, sign in to your other mailbox and check your mail fetching settings. If there’s an option to leave messages on the server once they’ve been fetched, ensure this is enabled.
  5. If not, delete the mail fetching option and instead set up mail forwarding from your Sky Yahoo Mail account.
  6. In Sky Yahoo Mail, select the gear icon in the upper-right corner, followed by Mail Options.
  7. Check you haven’t set up filters that may cause messages to be sent to the Trash folder. 

If you access emails through an email client (e.g. Outlook):

Check your settings on your email client to ensure you’ve not selected the option to delete emails from the server once they have been downloaded:

  • Outlook 2010 & 2013
    1. Select the File tab, then choose Account Settings.
    2. Pick your account and select Change.
    3. Select More Settings.
    4. Under the Delivery section of the Advanced tab, make sure that "Leave a copy of messages on the server", is checked.
    5. Select OK to save your settings.
  • Outlook Express
    1. Select the Tools menu, then Accounts.
    2. Pick your account and select Properties.
    3. Under the Delivery section of the Advanced tab, make sure that "Leave a copy of messages on the server", is checked.
    4. Select OK to save your settings.
  • Windows Live Mail
    1. Select Options from the main menu, then Email accounts.
    2. Pick your account and select Properties.
    3. Under the Delivery section of the Advanced tab, make sure that "Leave a copy of messages on the server", is checked.
    4. Select OK then Close to save your settings.
  • Apple Mail
    1. Using the menu bar at the top of the screen, select Mail, then Preferences.
    2. From the preferences window, choose the Account Information screen.
    3. Select the Advanced tab.
    4. Make sure that Remove copy from server after retrieving message is unchecked.
    5. Close the Preferences window. 
    6. When the Save Changes dialog pops up, choose Save.