This only affects any out of plan charges - things like premium rate calls, picture messages, or roaming. You can still use any data, calls, and texts included in your plan.
It will refresh on your next bill date, or you can change your spend cap in your account settings.
If you're not the account holder, then you'll need to ask them to do this.